The Sweeney

The Sweeney

John Thaw starred as Jack Regan in The Sweeney, one of the early British police dramas that aired in the UK on ITV1 from January 1975 through December 1978 and consisted of 53 episodes over 4 seasons. The pilot for the series aired in June 1974. (John Thaw went on to start in the Kavanagh QC and Inspector Morse television series.)

The Sweeney is based on an elite team of Metropolitan Polices officers specializing in violent crime called the Flying Squad; the name comes from Cockney rhyming slang (Sweeney Todd and Flying Squad).

Two theatrical movies based on the series were released in 1977 (Sweeney!) and 1978 (Sweeney 2). Another movie (The Sweeney) is currently in pre-production with no set release date.

The Sweeney: Series One

Series One

Original air dates: 06/04/1974 (pilot), 01/02/1975 to 03/27/1975

The Sweeney: Series One on DVD


The Sweeney: Series Two

Series Two

Original air dates: 09/01/1975 to 11/24/1975

The Sweeney: Series Two on DVD


The Sweeney: Series Three

Series Three

Original air dates: 09/06/1976 to 12/20/1976

The Sweeney: Series Three on DVD


The Sweeney: Series Four

Series Four

Original air dates: 09/07/1978 to 12/28/1978

The Sweeney: Series Four on DVD


Note: Media availability may change without notice. Page Authorship: Omnimystery News.

Break LineSponsored and Affiliate LinksBreak Line

TV episodes & movies instantly streaming from Netflix. Start your FREE trial!